Wedding Officiant Frequently Asked Questions
Who can perform my wedding?
All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, including retired judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law. See statute 741.07
Where do I go to get a marriage license application?
You may visit any Clerk & Comptroller’s office.
What do I need to bring with me when applying for a marriage license?
Both parties must apply in person and each must provide one of the following forms of identification:
- Driver’s license
- Federal or state identification card
- Passport showing your name and date of birth
Birth certificates or green cards are NOT acceptable for identification.
Additionally, both parties must read the Family Law Handbook prior to obtaining a marriage license
If one or both parties were previously married, are there additional requirements?
You must provide the exact date that the marriage ended and how it was ended. Documentation (for death, divorce, annulments, etc.) is not required.
Do I have to be a resident of Florida to apply for a marriage license?
Do I have to have a blood test?
Is there a waiting period for the marriage license to become valid?
There is a three (3) day waiting period after applying, if one or both of you are a Florida resident.
To waive the three (3) day waiting period and have your license immediately valid:
Both parties must attend and complete a premarital course from a registered provider
You must provide the certificate of completion when applying for your license
How long is my marriage license application valid?
You must get married within 60 days, or the application is not valid.
Typical Marriage License Fees
Marriage license, application: $93.50
Discounted marriage license, application $61.00 (available after completion of premarital preparation course)
Can I get married on the beach?
Yes. In most cases you can do a walk on wedding (everyone stands up, no chairs, decorations) at no cost. If you would like to provide seating, decorations, or an arch you will need to obtain a permit. Please check with your city for requirements.
Please keep in mind, that even with a permit, the beach is a public place and you will have children, dogs, planes, and people walking by. Most people are considerate enough to stay quiet while in the area of the wedding but some are not. If a loud passerby would ruin your wedding day it may be best to rent a private beach.
You are a Notary so does that mean that I can’t have any mention of God?
Not only am I a Notary, I am also Ordained with Universal Life Church. I would be happy to customize a ceremony that is specific to you.